Project

General

Profile

Support #3643

Job plan fails when Rollback version package does not contain new target

Added by Vadim 4 months ago. Updated 11 days ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Target version:
RapidDeploy - 5.0-FIX
Start date:
09/29/2020
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Affects Version:
RapidDeploy - 5.0-FIX
Timesheet Code:
Additional version details:

Description

Hello.

I'm not sure if I didn't report it yet. But cannot find a ticket.

Problem is that when I edit project adding new target configuration I cannot deploy it as Rollback version does not contain that target. Seems that this is not a right one behavior as I physically cannot achieve that Rollback version until I make a successful deployment with a new configuration. I had to go to the job plan and set a Rollback plan item version to "Latest" to eliminate errors. But that's not good.

What do You think about this? Is that "as designed"? :)

Best regards,
Vadim.

#1

Updated by MidVision 4 months ago

  • Assignee set to Mariano
  • Target version set to 5.0-FIX
#2

Updated by Mariano 4 months ago

  • Assignee changed from Mariano to Vadim

Hi Vadim,

That's a good question. So, regarding rollback pipeline in job plan, the idea is revert changes. You can this automatically running same pipeline but using ROLLBACK version/package or set a custom rollback pipeline steps/jobs/versions.

When it comes to ROLLBACK version, this means that it uses the former succesfull version of the project and target combination. These means if you have run a Project A/Target A/Version 1 successfully, then you run same Project A/Target A/Version 2 sucessfully, if you rollback this, ROLLBACK version will use Version 1 to deploy. But in any case the project and target should be the same as before, Project A/Target A. I think it doesn't make sense to run a new target and then rollback this, because it doesn't exist in the previous version right?

Let me know if I wasn't clear or there is any doubt.

Regards,
MP

#3

Updated by MidVision 4 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Feedback
#4

Updated by Rafael 3 months ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Marked for Closure

Hi Vadim,

Is this still an issue for you? Was Mariano explanation clear enough?

Let me know, otherwise I'll time out this ticket in a few days time as usual.

Cheers!

Rafa

#5

Updated by Vadim 3 months ago

Hi Mariano.

Thank You for the reply.

I'd say that both variants have own sense. :) But would like to have a working variant. Let's discuss this. Will try to describe both variants assuming that we talk about a single project. It was configured to server A and successfully deployed to it. Then I change project configuration and add a new one target - server B.
1. Your described variant. I have to go to the project's job plan, edit a Rollback pipeline to set target version to any different from "ROLLBACK" (if this is not done - job plan execution fails) and deploy project to achieve a version, that is successfully deployed to both targets: old server A and new server B. After this I should go to a project job plan again and reconfigure a Rollback pipeline setting a "ROLLBACK" version there. I'd say that's too much work and also I loose possibility to rollback to an old server A target only. :)
Note: I registered a ticket for a problem that when changing version in one project job item changes are applied in other same project job items as well.

2. My vision. After new server added to a project targets I deploy project without any other changes anywhere (project job plan is configured as usually - with Rollback pipeline with "ROLLBACK"version in it). Just in case of Rollback pipeline execution system takes the latest successfully deployed configuration as it was configured - project is redeployed to an old one server A only. just like I configure new server, add it to project configuration, try to deploy new project version to both old and new servers, new server deployment fails (dew to server configuration for example), and I rollback previous version to an old server only.

Don't know if my vision is described quite clear. :) Please let me know if something is still unclear.

Best regards,
Vadim.

#6

Updated by Vadim 3 months ago

Hi Rafael.

This is till actual for me. :) You updated it while I was writing my long comment. :)

Will wait for Your decision.

Best regards,
Vadim.

#7

Updated by Rafael 3 months ago

  • Status changed from Marked for Closure to Feedback
  • Assignee changed from Vadim to Mariano
#8

Updated by Mariano about 1 month ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Marked for Closure
  • Assignee changed from Mariano to Vadim

Hi Vadim,

This new feature was added in the wish list. Anyway we added new features in previuos jobs to filter diplayed jobs by status and also added a new link in job plan edition directly to previous job showing the history of the executed job plan.

So, you can easyly filter in previuos jobs and look up the previous former job plan executed succesfully to re run it and do a job plan ROLLBACK.

Regards,
MP

#9

Updated by Mariano about 1 month ago

I forgot to mention that this features will be available in nexct release 5.0.26.
Regards,
MP

#10

Updated by Rafael 11 days ago

  • Status changed from Marked for Closure to Closed

Hi Vadim,

RapidDeploy 5.0.26 is already out, so I'm closing this as resolved.

Please don't hesitate to open a new ticket if you need any further help.

Cheers!

Rafa

Also available in: Atom PDF